Welcome to the Commission for Scientific Diving in Germany

The Commission for Research Diving in Germany (KFT) is a registered professional association of german research institutions which carry out scientific diving on the basis of the current national rules and regulations. Members of the professional association are in particular universities, non-university research institutions and companies which employ “certified research divers”, the training companies for research divers recognised in Germany according to GUV-R 2112, the examination commission for research divers of the DGUV and the Federal Ministry for Research and Technology (BMBF).

The KFT is responsible for the development and coordination of scientific diving in Germany. It represents the scientific and logistic interests of diver-assisted aquatic research at the national and international level. It represents German interests in the field of professional scientific diving in Europe as a member of the European Scientific Diving Panel (ESDP) within the Network of Marine Research Institutes and Stations.

Important tasks of the Commission for Research Diving Germany with its different working groups are:

  1. the advancement of the safety regulations for research diving in Germany in cooperation with the relevant government agencies.
  2. the methodological further development and guarantee of a high scientific standard in scientific diving.
  3. the creation of training plans for research diving in Germany.
  4. Consulting of third parties (universities or institutions without their own research divers) regarding the implementation of scientific projects in which research divers are to be deployed.

KFT is thus the central point of contact for all questions relating to professional scientific diving in Germany. The main objective of the Commission is to support German scientists in the implementation of safe and scientifically excellent diving projects in Germany and abroad.

KFT is a professional association registered at the Bremerhaven Local Court. Prof. Dr. P. Fischer (chairman), Dr. M. Schmid (deputy chairman), Dipl. Biol. F. Donat (deputy chairman) and Dr. Marcus Herrmans (deputy chairman) are appointed as members of the executive board.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top